Cluster Initiative Lake Constance

 

The Cluster Initiative Lake Constance (Clusterinitiative Bodensee – CLIB) was created in 2000 at the initiative of District Administrator Frank Hämmerle. It was based on the idea of strengthening and further developing the business region of Lake Constance through cross-border location marketing and the development of a regional marketing body. This organisation, the Lake Constance Location Marketing (Bodensee Standort Marketing GmbH), was founded in December 2000.

 

But marketing requires a product and target groups. Without these two elements, there can be no successful marketing strategy. This particularly applies to regional location marketing. Its “product” is the business location, yet this definition is too abstract for a derivation of statements and messages that can be communicated. It is therefore necessary to further define the product and locate its unique characteristics and its attractiveness for certain target groups.

 

For this analysis, a working group came together under the direction of Dr. Gerd Springe, the former board director of ALUSUISSE in Singen. Further members included representatives of regional business, chambers, communes and business promotion services from the District of Constance.

 

In their analyses, the working group conceptually focused on the cluster approach. A business cluster is a regional concentration of companies that cover various functions in a value chain (horizontal and vertical association). This includes not only the core area of production but also upstream-, midstream- and downstream areas such as supply, marketing, logistics and other services, research and development, further education, and the cluster-specific pool of employees.

tl_files/clib/images/bild_cluster.jpg

In the regional-economic sense, clusters are more than a simple line-up of the functions mentioned. A cluster only exists when there are actual, active networks between the actors and direct interaction, exchange and cooperation. When there is such a vertical and horizontal connection along the value chain, then – as per the assumption of empirical studies – specific, regional strengths result and are demonstrated in innovation power, successful innovation and economic dynamics. A strong cluster marks a region and also gives it a specific expertise profile.

 

If an analysis shows a regional concentration of companies and institutions for a technological core but no active networking, then the regional development has the task of promoting this networking so that cluster potential can be realised.

 

Based on this approach, the business structure was first examined in the regional influence area of Lake Constance Location Marketing (Bodensee Standort Marketing GmbH). Then, building on this in a second step, the ten most promising clusters were identified and corresponding development concepts were derived. In the diagram, clusters are presented in accordance with their assessment. In a third step, the cluster managers for the CLIB cluster initiatives meet to exchange among themselves.

 

Currently, there are working groups for five of these clusters that deal with questions of strengthening and further developing individual specialisation and deriving concrete measures. For the support function of training and further education, which is extremely important for all clusters, a working group has also been created. 
 
The following clusters have been created:

Vier Länder Region Bodensee

Clusterinitiative Bodensee

 

Die Clusterinitiative Bodensee (CLIB) entstand im Jahre 2000 auf Initiative von Landrat Frank Hämmerle (Landkreis Konstanz). Ausgangspunkt war die Idee, zur Stärkung und Weiterentwicklung des Wirtschaftsstandortes Vierländerregion Bodensee ein grenzüberschreitendes Standortmarketing zu starten und dazu eine regionale Marketinggesellschaft aufzubauen. Diese Gesellschaft, die Bodensee Standort Marketing GmbH, wurde im Dezember 2000 gegründet.
 
Marketing braucht aber ein Produkt und Zielgruppen. Ohne diese beiden Elemente kann es keine erfolgversprechende Vermarktungsstrategie geben. Dies gilt auch und gerade für regionales Standortmarketing. Dessen „Produkt“ ist der Wirtschaftsstandort, doch ist diese Bestimmung zu abstrakt, um daraus Aussagen und Botschaften abzuleiten, die kommuniziert werden können. Es ist daher notwendig, das Produkt genauer zu definieren, seine Besonderheiten und seine Attraktivität für bestimmte Zielgruppen herauszuarbeiten.
 
Für diese Analyse konstituierte sich eine Arbeitsgruppe unter der Leitung von Dr. Gerd Springe, dem ehemaligen Vorstandsvorsitzenden der ALUSUISSE in Singen. Weitere Mitglieder waren Vertreter der regionalen Wirtschaft, der Kammern, der Kommunen sowie die Wirtschaftsförderer aus dem Landkreis Konstanz.
 
Bei ihren Untersuchungen orientierte sich die Arbeitsgruppe konzeptionell am Clusteransatz. Bei einem Wirtschaftscluster handelt es sich um die regionale Konzentration von Unternehmen, die unterschiedliche Funktionen in einer Wertschöpfungskette abdecken (horizontale und vertikale Vernetzung). Dazu gehört nicht nur der Kernbereich der Produktion, sondern zu diesen Funktionen zählen auch vor-, nach- und nebengelagerte Bereiche wie Zulieferung, Marketing, Logistik und andere Dienstleistungen, aber auch Forschung und Entwicklung, Aus- und Weiterbildung und das clusterspezifisch strukturierte Arbeitskräfteangebot.

tl_files/clib/images/bild_cluster.jpg

Allerdings sind Cluster im regionalökonomischen Verständnis mehr als das bloße Nebeneinander der genannten Funktionen. Von Clustern sollte nur gesprochen werden, wenn tatsächlich aktive Netzwerke zwischen den Akteuren bestehen und es zu direkten Interaktionen, zum Austausch und zur Kooperation kommt. Wenn es eine solche vertikale und horizontale Vernetzung entlang der Wertschöpfungskette gibt, dann – so die aus empirischen Studien abgeleitete Annahme – entstehen spezifische regionale Stärken, die in Innovationskraft, erfolgreicher Innovationstätigkeit und wirtschaftlicher Dynamik zum Ausdruck kommen. Ein starker Cluster prägt eine Region und verleiht ihr zugleich ein spezifisches Kompetenzprofil.
 
Zeigt sich nun in der Analyse, dass es zwar die regionale Konzentration von Unternehmen und Institutionen zu einem technologischen Kern gibt, aber keine aktive Vernetzung, dann stellt sich für die Regionalentwicklung die Aufgabe, die Netzwerkbildung zu fördern, damit sich das Clusterpotential entfalten kann.
 
Auf der Basis dieses Ansatzes wurde die Wirtschaftsstruktur zunächst im regionalen Wirkungsbereich der Bodensee Standort Marketing GmbH untersucht. Darauf aufbauend wurden in einem zweiten Schritt die 10 erfolgversprechendsten Cluster identifiziert und entsprechende Entwicklungskonzepte erarbeitet. In der Grafik sind die Cluster entsprechend ihrer Bewertung dargestellt. In einem dritten Schritt tauschen sich die Clustermanager der Clusterinitiativen der CLIB untereinander aus.
 
Für fünf dieser Cluster in der Vierländerregion Bodensee gibt es derzeit Arbeitsgruppen, die sich mit Fragen der Stärkung und Weiterentwicklung des jeweiligen Schwerpunkts beschäftigen und konkrete Maßnahmen erarbeiten.

 
Im Einzelnen handelt es sich um folgende Cluster:

 

Interessierte können sich an die Geschäftsstelle der Clusterinitiative Bodensee wenden:

 

Bodensee Standort Marketing GmbH
Projektleiter Clusterentwicklung, Cluster Forst & Holz:
Jochen Goedecke
Telefon: +49 (0)7531 800 1451
FAX: +49 (0)7531 800 1146
E-Mail: jochen.goedecke@b-sm.com



Vier Länder Region Bodensee